Concerning Fate

Sometimes we find ourselves in situations that we can’t escape from. Everything worked out in exactly the right way that we’re forced to act. And we have only one option. We have to do one particular thing, we don’t get to choose. That’s called a nexus point, I think.

Take us for example: you walked off the bus and into that store. I saw you buy that book. That book. Of all books I don’t know why it had to be that book. But that’s the one you chose.  God and the Heavens or whatever personification of the universe that you prefer to believe in put you and that book there. Ganesh, I don’t know. Whoever you think controls the Universe. That’s who put that book in your hand and told me to follow you.

I had a choice, and I chose to listen to his call. I followed you. I chose to get into your house and when you picked up that knife, you chose to stab me. We don’t always get a say, chum.  We may find ourselves at a nexus point here, my friend. I’m bleeding out on your floor. You’re not going to call the police because now you’ve killed someone. You have no choice but to dispose of the body. I have no choice but to let it all happen. Don’t worry though, if God forced us into this, surely in all his wisdom he won’t punish either of us. I mean, it was all part of his plan, right?

So please don’t be sloppy when you get rid of me. I don’t want you to lose control of the situation and have no say in what happens to you next.

Leave a Reply

