What I Saw Last Night in the Woods

I think I found myself wandering the woods last night. I dunno, maybe it was just a dream. But the moon sat heavy in the sky. Shining beams of stupid white light down among the trees. The forest was illuminated in an ugly outline with gradient shades of grey. It’s boring. There was a little house in the middle of a circle of stumps and I think an old lady sitting at the window watching the lightbugs or whatever they’re called. Fireflies. That’s the word. Watching the fireflies buzzing around the porch light. I didn’t go in because I don’t know her, and I don’t care if I ever do. Just an old lady.

I could hear the stream trickling to my right. Flowing like water does, downhill. It just does that. I dunno. The coyotes howled or whatever that noise they make is called. Yelling at each other to mark their territory or ask each other how it’s going or whatever the hell it is coyotes talk about. Other than that it was quiet. I wish there was a point to this story, but there’s not much point to anything to be perfectly honest. I don’t really care. I just went for a walk or something. And that’s what I saw.

Leave a Reply

